RTA logo
Regional Transportation Authority
Mapping and Statistics (RTAMS)
Planning Projects > Community Planning > Study Details
Home | Main Map | Site Map
RTA logo

RTA logo Evanston Multi-Modal Master Transportation Plan

Study Description

The general scope of the project was to develop mode specific plans (transit, pedestrian, and auto) to compliment and integrate with the existing Evanston Bike Plan. The goal was to foster an integrated and coordinated transportation system throughout Evanston. The RTA participated in the transit component of this plan.

Program:Community Planning
Program Year:2007
Project Type(s):Transit Improvement Plan
Grantee:City of Evanston
Current Activities:in late 2013 the City received CMAQ approval for a protected bike lane along Dodge Avenue from Church Street to Howard Street. This project will begin in 2014 and will improve access and safety for bicyclists throughout the downtown TOD area. For more information please visit Additionally, the City was selected as part of the 2015 RTA Community Planning Program to explore ways to create a TOD Parking Policy throughout the City. The completed policy is expected to be adopted by the City Council in fall of 2016.

In fall of 2015, the City was awarded CMAQ funding to construct covered bicycle parking at the Main Street CTA and Metra stations through the RTA's Access to Transit Improvement Program.
Information Updated:May 2017
SourceInitial PlanInitial PlanTotal
Study Documents
Evanston Multi-Modal Transportation Plan (June 3, 2009)
Related Studies
Evanston Main Street Station Transit-Oriented Development Plan (2012)
Related Transit Assets
CTA Stations:Central-Evanston (Purple)
Davis (Purple) accessible
Dempster (Purple)
Foster (Purple)
Main (Purple)
Noyes (Purple)
South Boulevard (Purple)
Metra Stations:Central Street (Evanston) (UP-N) accessible
Davis Street (Evanston) (UP-N) accessible
Main Street (Evanston) (UP-N)
Related Jurisdictions
Municipalities:Chicago, Evanston, Skokie, Wilmette
US Congressional Districts:9 Jan Schakowsky
Illinois Senate Districts:7 Heather A. Steans, 8 Ram Villivalam, 9 Laura Fine
Illinois House Districts:14 Kelly M. Cassidy, 16 Yehiel M. Kalish, 17 Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, 18 Robyn Gabel
County Board Districts:Cook 13
Chicago Wards:49 Maria Hadden, 50 Debra Silverstein
Councils of Mayors:Chicago, North Shore
Media Item(s)
media item
Study Area Map
Show/Hide Layers
Aerial Photos
Land Use

Site Map | Feedback | About RTAMS | Data and Updates | Terms and Conditions | Glossary | Log In