RTA logo
Regional Transportation Authority
Mapping and Statistics (RTAMS)
Planning Projects > Community Planning > Study Details
Home | Main Map | Site Map
RTA logo

RTA logo Chicago Southland Transit Region

Study Description

This study, sponsored by the South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association (SSMMA), encompassed the communities within the service area of the SSMMA and located along either the Metra Electric Line, Rock Island Line, Southwest Service, or the proposed SouthEast Service Line. This study created station area and developer typologies for each of the stations as well as development and design guidelines.

Program:Community Planning
Program Year:2009
Project Type(s):Transit-Oriented Development Plan
Grantee:South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association
Current Activities:The final report was adopted by the SSMMA Board in April 2011. Phase II of this study was completed in 2012, focusing on identifying conceptual development programs for five specific sites in three communities within the study area. As a follow-up, the SSMMA received assistance from the RTA (with support from ULI) in 2013 to solicit guidance, advice and input from the development community for four sites within the SSMMA region, one of which is Oak Forest. This discussion took place on December 10, 2013 and a Summary Report of this discussion can be found below under "Related Studies".
Information Updated:October 2018
Study Documents
Chicago Southland Transit Region (January, 2011)
Related Studies
Related Transit Assets
Metra Rail Lines:Metra Electric
Rock Island District
SouthWest Service
Related Jurisdictions
Counties:Cook, Will
Municipalities:Alsip, Blue Island, Burnham, Calumet City, Calumet Park, Chicago, Chicago Heights, Country Club Hills, Crestwood, Crete, Dixmoor, Dolton, East Hazel Crest, Flossmoor, Ford Heights, Frankfort, Glenwood, Harvey, Hazel Crest, Homer Glen, Homewood, Lansing, Lynwood, Manhattan, Markham, Matteson, Merrionette Park, Midlothian, Mokena, Monee, New Lenox, Oak Forest, Olympia Fields, Orland Hills, Orland Park, Palos Heights, Palos Park, Park Forest, Phoenix, Posen, Richton Park, Riverdale, Robbins, Sauk Village, South Chicago Heights, South Holland, Steger, Thornton, Tinley Park, University Park, Worth
US Congressional Districts:1 Bobby Rush, 11 Bill Foster, 2 Robin Kelly, 3 Dan Lipinski
Illinois Senate Districts:14 Emil Jones, III, 15 Napoleon Harris, III, 17 Elgie R. Sims, Jr., 18 Bill Cunningham, 19 Michael E. Hastings, 40 Patrick J. Joyce, 41 John F. Curran
Illinois House Districts:27 Justin Slaughter, 28 Robert Rita, 29 Thaddeus Jones, 30 William Davis, 33 Marcus C. Evans, Jr., 34 Nicholas K Smith, 35 Frances Ann Hurley, 36 Kelly M. Burke, 37 Margo McDermed, 38 Debbie Meyers-Martin, 80 Anthony DeLuca, 82 Jim Durkin
County Board Districts:Cook 11, Cook 17, Cook 4, Cook 5, Cook 6, Will 1, Will 12, Will 2, Will 7
Chicago Wards:10 Susan Garza, 19 Matthew O'Shea, 34 Carrie M. Austin, 9 Anthony Beale
Councils of Mayors:Chicago, South, Southwest, Will
Media Item(s)
media item
Study Area Map
Show/Hide Layers
Aerial Photos
Land Use

Site Map | Feedback | About RTAMS | Data and Updates | Terms and Conditions | Glossary | Log In