RTA logo
Regional Transportation Authority
Mapping and Statistics (RTAMS)
Planning Projects > Community Planning > Study Details
Home | Main Map | Site Map
RTA logo

RTA logo DuPage County Transit Plan Update

Study Description

This project, sponsored by DuPage County, updated the DuPage County 2002 Transit Plan by developing a phased implementation of projects identified in the plan over a 20 year horizon.

Program:Community Planning
Program Year:2009
Project Type(s):Transit Improvement Plan
Grantee:DuPage County
Current Activities:The final plan is complete and was approved by the Public Transit Committee of the DuPage County Board in November 2011. The RTA, partnering with DuPage County, DuPage Mayors and Mangers, and Service Boards, launched a marketing campaign to promote transit in the County. Funded primarily through a Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality (CMAQ) grant, the campaign intends to inform residents and employees in the county of their transit options and encourage them to ride public transportation. The campaign began in October 2014 and will continue to the end of 2015 and utilizes tactics such as billboards, online advertisements, marketing collateral (door hangers), mall displays, newspaper advertisement and community engagement.

CMAQ approved the RTA's submittal to fund 80% of the cost for local access to transit capital improvements for the Village of Glen Ellyn, as recommended in the DuPage County Transit Plan Update. The RTA has approved the local match as part of the 2014 budget. Installation of these improvements will begin in 2015.

In late 2013 the City of Aurora received CMAQ approval for the Station Blvd Extension to IL 59 Commuter Parking Lot project. This project funded Engineering and Construction for a new driveway to the IL 59 Commuter parking lot along the Metra BNSF Line, allowing for Park-n-Ride opportunities, as recommended in the DuPage County Transit Plan Update CP project. For more information please visit
Information Updated:August 2017
Study Documents
DuPage County Transit Plan Update (September, 2011)
Related Studies
Related Transit Assets
Related Jurisdictions
Municipalities:Addison, Aurora, Bartlett, Batavia, Bensenville, Bloomingdale, Bolingbrook, Burr Ridge, Carol Stream, Chicago, Clarendon Hills, Darien, Downers Grove, Elk Grove Village, Elmhurst, Glen Ellyn, Glendale Heights, Hanover Park, Hinsdale, Itasca, Lemont, Lisle, Lombard, Naperville, Oak Brook, Oakbrook Terrace, Roselle, Schaumburg, St. Charles, Villa Park, Warrenville, Wayne, West Chicago, Westmont, Wheaton, Willow Springs, Willowbrook, Winfield, Wood Dale, Woodridge
US Congressional Districts:11 Bill Foster, 14 Lauren Underwood, 3 Dan Lipinski, 5 Mike Quigley, 6 Sean Casten, 8 Raja Krishnamoorthi
Illinois Senate Districts:21 Laura Ellman, 23 Thomas Cullerton, 24 Suzy Glowiak Hilton, 25 Jim Oberweis, 28 Laura M. Murphy, 39 Don Harmon, 41 John F. Curran, 42 Linda Holmes, 43 Pat McGuire
Illinois House Districts:41 Grant Wehrli, 42 Amy Grant, 45 Diane Pappas, 46 Deb Conroy, 47 Deanne M. Mazzochi, 48 Terra Costa Howard, 49 Karina Villa, 56 Michelle Mussman, 77 Kathleen Willis, 81 Anne Stava-Murray, 82 Jim Durkin, 84 Stephanie A. Kifowit, 85 John Connor
County Board Districts:Cook 17, DuPage 1, DuPage 2, DuPage 3, DuPage 4, DuPage 5, DuPage 6
Chicago Wards:41 Anthony V. Napolitano
Councils of Mayors:Chicago, DuPage, Kane/Kendall, Northwest, Southwest, Will
Media Item(s)
media item
Study Area Map
Show/Hide Layers
Aerial Photos
Land Use

Site Map | Feedback | About RTAMS | Data and Updates | Terms and Conditions | Glossary | Log In