RTA logo
Regional Transportation Authority
Mapping and Statistics (RTAMS)
Planning Projects > Community Planning > Study Details
Home | Main Map | Site Map
RTA logo

RTA logo CTA Bus Corridor Slow Zone Improvement Initiatives

Study Description

This project developed recommendations to improve the speed and reliability of service on two CTA bus corridors, a 7.9-mile section of Chicago Avenue and a 10-mile section of 79th Street. Data analysis was conducted to identify slow zones along both corridors and identify solutions to improve the speed of service in those zones. The recommendations include concept designs, and an implementation plan for the CTA and partner agencies.

Program:Community Planning
Program Year:2016
Project Type(s):Corridor Planning
Current Activities:Final reports for both corridors were completed in the summer of 2018 and are linked below in Study Documents. The City has budgeted funds to make a number of the recommended improvements along the corridors. The first intersection which began reconfiguration work on April 19, 2019 was Chicago/Milwaukee/Ogden, with additional corridor work anticipated to also commence in 2019. The City was also awarded Invest in Cook funding from the Cook County Department of transportation to begin building some of the improvements recommended for the 79th Street corridor. In October 2019 Mayor Lori E. Lightfoot announced the City of Chicago will devote $20 million in new funding for the Bus Priority Zone Program designed to improve bus travel times and make service more reliable on seven core routes.
Information Updated:February 2020
Study Documents
79th Street Report Appendix
79th Street Report Exhibits
79th Street Slow Zone Improvement Report (June, 2018)
Chicago Ave Report Appendix
Chicago Ave Report Exhibits
Chicago Ave Slow Zone Improvement Report (June, 2018)
Related Studies
Related Transit Assets
Related Jurisdictions
Municipalities:Burbank, Chicago, Oak Park
US Congressional Districts:1 Bobby Rush, 2 Robin Kelly, 3 Dan Lipinski, 4 Chuy Garcia, 5 Mike Quigley, 7 Danny Davis
Illinois Senate Districts:11 Celina Villanueva, 13 Robert Peters, 16 Jacqueline Y. Collins, 17 Elgie R. Sims, Jr., 2 Omar Aquino, 3 Mattie Hunter, 39 Don Harmon, 4 Kimberly A. Lightford, 5 Patricia Van Pelt
Illinois House Districts:10 Jawaharial Williams, 22 Michael J. Madigan, 25 Curtis Tarver, 26 Kambium Buckner, 31 Mary E. Flowers, 32 Andre Thapedi, 33 Marcus C. Evans, Jr., 34 Nicholas K Smith, 4 Delia Ramirez, 5 Lamont Robinson, 6 Sonya M. Harper, 78 Camille Y. Lilly, 8 La Shawn K. Ford, 9 Arthur Turner
County Board Districts:Cook 1, Cook 11, Cook 12, Cook 2, Cook 3, Cook 4, Cook 8
Chicago Wards:1 Daniel La Spata, 10 Susan Garza, 17 David Moore, 18 Derrick Curtis, 2 Brian Hopkins, 21 Howard Brookins, Jr., 26 Roberto Maldonado, 27 Walter Burnett, Jr., 28 Jason Ervin, 29 Chris Taliaferro, 37 Emma Mitts, 42 Brendan Reilly, 5 Leslie Hairston, 6 Roderick Sawyer, 7 Greg Mitchell, 8 Michelle A. Harris
Councils of Mayors:Chicago, North Central, Southwest
Study Area Map
Show/Hide Layers
Aerial Photos
Land Use

Site Map | Feedback | About RTAMS | Data and Updates | Terms and Conditions | Glossary | Log In