RTA logo
Regional Transportation Authority
Mapping and Statistics (RTAMS)
Planning Projects > Community Planning > Study Details
Home | Main Map | Site Map
RTA logo

RTA logo Northwest Corridor Study

Study Description

The Northwest Corridor, centered on the I-90 Northwest Tollway, includes a substantial share of the region's activity centers and travel destinations, including O'Hare International Airport, the Schaumburg/Woodfield area and the Elk Grove Industrial Park. The Northwest Corridor Transit Feasibility Study identified and compared options for improving mobility, and facilitated a locally-preferred choice for new transit development. Concurrently, the Northwest Municipal Conference-directed RTAP Study developed transit supportive land use policies and identified potential local financing sources. Of the three transit options proposed by CTA, Metra and Pace, local officials representing communities in the Northwest Corridor selected Metra's commuter rail option- the STAR Line.

Program:Community Planning
Program Year:1998
Project Type(s):Transit Improvement Plan
Grantee:Northwest Municipal Conference
Current Activities:This project was completed in December 2004. After completing an Alternatives Analysis for the STAR Line in 2012, Metra chose not to continue to pursue the project due to a variety of factors.
Information Updated:October 2018
Study Documents
Northwest Corridor Phase I Transit Feasibility Study
Northwest Corridor Phase II Alternatives Analysis
Northwest Transit Corridor Land Use and Local Financial Plan Study
Related Studies
Related Transit Assets
Related Jurisdictions
Counties:Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry
Municipalities:Arlington Heights, Barrington, Barrington Hills, Bartlett, Bensenville, Chicago, Des Plaines, East Dundee, Elgin, Elk Grove Village, Elmwood Park, Franklin Park, Hanover Park, Harwood Heights, Hoffman Estates, Inverness, Itasca, Mount Prospect, Norridge, Palatine, Park Ridge, River Grove, Rolling Meadows, Roselle, Rosemont, Schaumburg, Schiller Park, South Barrington, Streamwood, Wood Dale
US Congressional Districts:10 Brad Schneider, 4 Chuy Garcia, 5 Mike Quigley, 6 Sean Casten, 8 Raja Krishnamoorthi, 9 Jan Schakowsky
Illinois Senate Districts:10 Robert F. Martwick, 2 Omar Aquino, 22 Cristina Castro, 23 Thomas Cullerton, 25 Jim Oberweis, 26 Dan McConchie, 27 Ann Gillespie, 28 Laura M. Murphy, 39 Don Harmon
Illinois House Districts:19 Lindsey LaPointe, 20 Bradley Stephens, 3 Eva Dina Delgado, 43 Anna Moeller, 44 Fred Crespo, 45 Diane Pappas, 49 Karina Villa, 51 Mary Edly-Allen, 52 David McSweeney, 53 Mark Walker, 54 Thomas Morrison, 55 Martin J. Moylan, 56 Michelle Mussman, 77 Kathleen Willis, 78 Camille Y. Lilly
County Board Districts:Cook 1, Cook 14, Cook 15, Cook 16, Cook 17, Cook 9, DuPage 1, DuPage 6, Kane 20, Kane 21, Lake 17
Chicago Wards:29 Chris Taliaferro, 38 Nicholas Sposato, 41 Anthony V. Napolitano
Councils of Mayors:Chicago, DuPage, Kane/Kendall, McHenry, North Central, Northwest
Media Item(s)
media item
Study Area Map
Show/Hide Layers
Aerial Photos
Land Use

Site Map | Feedback | About RTAMS | Data and Updates | Terms and Conditions | Glossary | Log In