Regional Transportation Authority (RTA)

The RTA is the financial oversight and regional planning body for the three public transit operators in northeastern Illinois: the Chicago Transit Authority (CTA), Metra commuter rail and Pace suburban bus. The Regional Transportation Authority (RTA) was created in 1974 upon the approval of a referendum by the residents of Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry and Will counties in northeastern Illinois. The RTA is a special purpose unit of local government and a municipal corporation of the state of Illinois. From the time of its creation, the RTA's mission has been to ensure financially sound, comprehensive and coordinated public transportation for northeastern Illinois.